The Homeric Award

The Homeric Award, established by the Chian Federation in 1977, is presented to individuals who have demonstrated an advocacy for human rights, the rule of law and democratic ideals, and have worked to strengthen relations between the United States and Greece.

Recipients of the Homeric Award 1977 to 2019

Congressman Benjamin Rosenthal of New York º 1977

Congressman John Brademas of Indiana  º  1979

Senator Edward Kennedy of Massachusetts  º  1980

Senator Claiborne Pell of Rhode Island  º  1981

Speaker of the House Thomas "Tip" O'Neill of Massachusetts  º  1982

Senator Paul Sarbanes of Maryland  º  1983

Senator Alfonse D'Amato of New York  º  1984

Former President Jimmy Carter  º  1985

Senator Larry Pressler of South Dakota  º  1986

Congressman Edward Feighan of Ohio  º  1987

Archbishop Iakovos, Primate of the Greek Orthodox Church  º  1988

Senator Barbara Mikulski of Maryland  º  1989

Senator Bill Bradley of New Jersey  º  1990

President of the Hellenic Republic Constantinos Karamanlis  º  1991

Great Benefactress Stamatia Michael Xylas  º  1991

Senator David L. Boren of Oklahoma  º  1992

Senior Advisor to the President, George Stefanopoulos  º  1993

Congresswoman Carolyn B. Maloney of New York - 1994

Congressman Benjamin Gilman of New York - 1995

Congressman Michael Bilirakis of Florida - 1996

Congressman Gary Ackerman of New York - 1997

Congressman Robert Menendez of New Jersey - 1998

Senator Olympia Snowe of Maine - 1999

Senator Charles E. Schumer of New York - 2000

President of World Council of Hellenes Abroad, Andrew A. Athens - 2001

Congressman Robert E. Andrews of New Jersey - 2002

US Ambassador to the United Nations John D. Negroponte - 2003

NASA Scientist Dr. Stamatios M. Krimigis - 2004

Congressman Joseph Crowley of New York - 2005

Greek Ambassador to the United Nations Adamantios Th. Vassilakis - 2006

American Hellenic Institute Founder/President Eugene Rossides - 2007

PSEKA President Philip Christopher - 2010

US Army Lt. General William G. Pagonis (Ret) -2011

US Navy Admiral James G. Stavridis - 2012

Athena Tsokou-Kromidas, Principal "William Spyropoulos" Greek-American School - 2013

His Eminence Archbishop Demetrios of America - 2014

M.I.T.  Scientist Dr. Nicholas Negroponte - 2015

Chian American Philanthropist Michael Psaros - 2016

Greek American Philanthropist Helen Chiotes - 2017

Senator Jeanne Shaheen of New Hampshire - 2018

Chian Federation Past President Nick G. Mihalios -2019